Shop-aholic I am not… except for the past two days

3 Aug

 

Pretty, Pretty Dresses 🙂

I have a confession to make.

In a move very unlike me, I have spent the last two days shopping.

One very important thing you should know about me is that I do not like to spend money, and when I do, it is only on items I feel I truly need.

Something else you should know about me is that I really do no like to shop (Well, I guess I need to clarify that and say “shop for clothes,” because I do love food shopping, and can spend hours at the grocery store. Which I did today). I do not have the patience to go through rack after rack of clothes, so really the only time I clothes shop is when I absolutely need something.

Having said all that, yesterday I visited Ross, TJ Maxx and Marshall’s with my best friend, TP, and enjoyed every minute of it. I think I looked at every article of clothing that I could fit into, and then some.

Then today, TP and I ventured to Big Lots, Family Dollar and Aldi (not really clothes shopping, but not really food shopping, either).

I didn’t really buy too much today at those three stores, but yesterday I bought three dresses at Ross. I think they are all super cute, and I can’t wait to have the opportunity to wear them!

After hanging out with Tara this afternoon, I came home and went to the grocery store, where I did spend an hour and a half going up and down every isle. I spent $40, and considering I went there without really knowing what I needed, I’d say that was a splurge. I bought some fun items though, including a few I have never purchased before: tofu, sparkling seltzer and these energy bites.

Hmmmm, I wonder how good these will be?

I am super excited to try the energy bites, since I am currently looking for ways to fuel on my long runs. Has anyone tried them? Does anyone have any fuel recommendations?

Speaking of long runs, I ran 55 minutes this morning, which totalled about 6.6 miles. I had to use an application I found on my Droid to keep track of my run, since my Garmin is still acting up. I tried calling the company today, but was not able to speak to anyone before I gave up on the 30 minute wait time. I will be emailing them this evening to see if I can get any help that way.

Yesterday was a cross training day, so I rode 45 minutes on my bike, then did 20 minutes of toning.

Currently, I am sitting in my kitchen listening to the washer whirl, and impatiently waiting for the apple sauce cake I just threw in the oven to bake. It smells suuuper yummy, and if it tastes good, I will be sure to post the recipe for you.

I know I have promised you a recap of the concert we went to Saturday night. I assure you, I will get my butt in gear and have it up for you to enjoy, soon!

In the mean time, keep smiling!

Do you have your own washer and dryer at home, or do you have to take yours to a laundry mat?  When I lived in my apartment I had a washer and dryer in the basement, which cost $1.75 to wash and $2.00 to dry. It was a pain in the butt to have to lug everything up and down stairs, in addition to having to pay for it, so I am so happy I now have the luxury of my own washer and dryer.

Leave a Reply

