Is Cheerleading a Sport?

27 Jul
Good Afternoon!

I hope everyone is having a great day today.

I know I am.

I started off with a not-so-easy 55 minute run, in accordance with my half-marathon training plan. I had to use my cellphone to track my time, because my Garmin is not functioning at the moment (grrrrr!). Needless to say, I am not sure how many miles I went, but I know 55 minutes seemed like FOREVER. Thankfully, it was only about 65 degrees when I set out at 6 a.m., so it was the perfect temperature to get in a few miles.

After my workout, I hopped in the shower, had some cereal with strawberries and milk, grabbed some coffee, and was out the door to the summer enrichment program.

It’s so weird to be back at work after a week off. Strangely, I have been exhausted the past two days (you would figure I’d be rested after my vacation, but, no), and the students seem to be just as tired as I am. The good thing is that the program is only for two and a half hours in the morning, so just about the time the students start to get rammy, it’s time to send them home to their parents. Score!

Now I’m at the library, taking advantage of some free ac and internet.

Squad photo from my senior year of high school. Can you spot me?

The title of my post was actually derived from an article I just read in our local newspaper. It discussed how “U.S. District Judge Stefan Underhill ruled last week that cheerleading is ‘too underdeveloped and disorganized’ to be recognized as a sport at the college level.”

Now, as a former cheerleader myself, I have to disagree with this statement. I know there are a lot of people out there who believe otherwise, and you know what, that is totally fine. But I know I worked my butt off at cheerleading practice, and was just as athletic as any of the other athletes at my high school.

To support my point, I tried looking up the definition of “sport” in Merriam Webster online. The definition wasn’t really anything earth-shattering, so I looked up “athlete” instead. The definition is as follows: a person who is trained or skilled in exercises, sports or games requiring physical strength, agility, or stamina. (You can find this defnition here).

Personally, I don’t know how you could consider cheerleading to NOT be a sport after reading the definition of an athlete. Of course, one could say cheerleading is actually an exercise or game, but, really? I think that argument could also be disproven.

I am really not one for arguing, so I am just going to leave it at that. I believe what I believe, and you are entitled to your own beliefs as well.

On that note, I am going to go hassle the folks at Garmin and see if I can get my watch fixed. It’s such a downer to be training for a half marathon and have no idea how many miles I’ve been running…

Have a good day, everyone.

Keep smiling!

What do you think? Is cheerleading a sport?

Leave a Reply

