It’s Friday!

16 Jul

Well, I did it.

Ten glorious miles in an hour and half.

All before most of my friends were even thinking about getting out of bed.

And it felt great.

Saturdays are usually my long run days, but we are leaving for Maine at midnight tonight, and I knew I would probably not be in any shape to run long distances tomorrow.

So I swapped my rest day to tomorrow, and ran today instead.

It was funny, I left the house at 6:35 and returned around 8:10. I couldn’t believe I had been running for THAT long. Three more miles though, and I would have finished a half marathon. Woo hoo. It felt good, too. Not as easy as the last time I ran 10 miles, but it was not as humid that day, either, so I really can’t compare.

I’m not really sure what motivates me to get up and run such distances. All I can say is it just feels right.

Now I’m just finishing up some last-minute errands, and waiting for midnight to get here. Today is going to be a loooong day!

I didn’t post yesterday, so I thought I’d let you know what my day consisted of.

I knew I was going to be running a lot of mileage today, so I didn’t want to tire my legs out, but I also wanted to get a bit of cardio in.

So I started things off with wind-sprints: I sprinted as fast as I could for 1 minute, and then jogged back to where I started, and sprinted again – for a total of 10 minutes. I preceded the sprints with a 5 minute warm-up, and ended with a 10 minute cool-down. In total I went about 3 miles in 30 minutes. It was the perfect way to start the day.

When I got home, I did the following sequences:

  1. 25 squats
  2. 10 side kicks on both legs
  3. 15 push-ups

Repeat 2 times

  1. 1 minute squat hold
  2. 32 jabs with my right arm, 32 with my left, then 64 combined
  3. 40 twisting crunches

Repeat 2 more times

Overall, I felt like I had a great work out yesterday, without feeling too tired.

I then went to the enrichment program, and got my nails done with TP.

We followed our nail session up with a two-hour chatfest at Dunkin Donuts, my favorite place ever. It was a great way to spend the afternoon.

So I’m curious, what motivates you to work out? Also, are you a fan of Dunkin Donuts?

Well, have a great day!

Keep smiling!

Leave a Reply

