Is it Friday yet?

13 Jul

Welcome to another day!

I hope you guys had a fabulous evening.

JP took me to Hoboken to visit Carlos Bakery for my birthday. It was so awesome!

I wasn’t feeling so hot last night, so I got to bed a little early, but not before I watched Cake Boss. LOVE that show.

I did about 25 minutes of speed work this morning, which included 10 minutes of warm-up and 10 minutes of cool-down.

Where I spent the first 45 minutes of my day

My speed work routine is relatively easy: 30 seconds of sprinting followed by 1 minute of recovery. I think I need to change that up a bit, but it works for me for now, and since I only do it once a week, I don’t think my body gets used to the routine.

After my run it was time for a shower and breakfast, then I was off to school.

No fun stories to report today, but I can tell you the kids crack me up every minute I am there. It’s a great way to spend a few hours of my morning.

So, I was reading a post Julie wrote today, and in it she included the following statements from her yoga instructor:

  • Every day you decide to work out you make a decision to benefit your health. This is no small feat. Be proud of yourself for making your health and well-being a priority.
  • If you keep doing what you’ve been doing, you’re going to keep looking how you’ve been looking.
  • These really struck home to me for a number of reasons.

    I have a few friends who cannot believe I run as much as I do, or that I am training for a half-marathon. Most of them say they could never run more than a mile at the most, and would pass out at the thought of running 13. I always try to explain to them how great running makes me feel, and that I do it more for my mental health than physical, but that just throws them for a loop, too, so I’ve stopped trying to explain.

    I also have a friend who keeps telling me she will never be able to run more than 3 miles. I tell her all the time the fact that she is just out there running is enough, but she always puts her self down when she thinks about how “little” she runs. The fact of the matter is, there are so many people out there who CAN’T run, for whatever reason, and anyone who can run should consider themselves lucky to be able to make it any distance – even if it is only a mile at a time.

    I totally agree with what Julie’s yoga instructor had to say, and believe you only get out of things what you put in. Working out is not easy, but in the long run it is well worth the blood, sweat and tears, so to speak.

    Does anyone else have friends who put themselves down when they “only” run a mile or two?

    Well, time to get some work done. I’ll see you soon.

    Keep smiling!

    Leave a Reply

