Monday, Monday

12 Jul

Hello Blogworld!

Random scenic picture of Searsport I thought I'd share with you since I didn't take any other pictures today :o)

I’m a little late blogging today, as I started working for a local school district’s summer enrichment program this morning and am just now having the opportunity to sit down and write.

I must admit, I was a little intimidated about starting at first, since I usually work with high school students, and the students enrolled in this program are K-3. Additionally, many of them have special learning needs that require extra attention, so I wasn’t really sure walking in this morning what to expect.

Well, I can tell you I am absolutely thrilled and I can’t wait to go back tomorrow.

I didn’t take any pictures, for confidentiality purposes, but I did want to share with you a few highlights of my day:

When introducing herself, one student told us, “My name is Catie, with a “C.” But you can call me Catherine if you want.” It’s amazing how UNcomplicated the lives of youth are.

During snack time, the students were provided apple juice. At one point, one of the students got up to throw his juice box away, proclaiming, “I’ve had too much apple juice.” Another student immediately responded, “What, do you think you’re gonna get drunk or something?” Again, I could not keep from laughing.

Another random picture, this time of my feet. I thought this was appropriate because it shows the ugly calus I have on my big toe (toes, actually) from running.

Before school this morning, my half-marathon training plan called for 45 minutes of cross training. I do not have access to a pool, and I do not have a gym membership where I can access classes, so I am really limited to my cross training options. Lately I have been riding my bike, but 45 minutes on my bike can get kind of boring, since I do not have any really great areas to bike in.

To help alleviate that problem, I tried a 35-minute bike program Fitness Magazine featured one day. I followed it mostly as they listed it, but made a few changes of my own at the end, to meet 45 minutes:

15 minute warm up

pedal as hard as you can for 10 seconds, ride normally for 1 minute

pedal as hard as you can for 20 seconds, ride normally for 1 minute

pedal as hard as you can for 30 seconds, ride normally for 2 minutes

pedal as hard as you can, standing up, for 10 seconds, ride normally for 1 minute

pedal as hard as you can, standing up, for 15 seconds, ride normally for 1 minute

pedal as hard as you can, standing up, for 20 seconds, ride normally for 2 minutes

pedal as hard as you can for 20 seconds, ride normally for 1 minute

pedal as hard as you can for 20 seconds, standing up, ride normally for 1 minute

pedal as  hard as you can for 20 seconds, ride normally for 2 minutes

cool down for 10 minutes

It was pretty intense, and I caught myself feeling a little out of breath a couple of times. With all the running I do, I consider myself to be in pretty good physical shape, but when you change things up, you realize just how much more work you have to do ;o)

After my workout I had two frozen waffles, some fruit and a handful of almonds and dried cranberries. I also enjoyed a cup of coffee on my way to school.

I am currently taking up residence at the library, checking out clean living books. I had hoped they would have “Clean Food,” but it’s not available at this library, so I may have to take a trip to another one in the county to pick it up. I am really interested in reading it. For now, I’ve grabbed a couple random books that grabbed my attention, and will keep me occupied for a few hours.

I hope everyone is having a great Monday so far. I’ll be back soon.

Keep smiling!

Has anyone read “Clean Living?” Did you enjoy it, and find it useful? Do you have any other suggestions?

Leave a Reply

