Hiding from the Heat

8 Jul

 

So, my best friend, TP, and I, <that’s us in the above photo at her July 4 party> were supposed to go to the beach today, but given the current heat wave we’re experiencing here in New Jersey, we decided to be responsible and stay home. Sometimes we make good decisions. Sometimes we don’t. Last night’s decision was one of the times when we were actually thinking.

When I woke up at 6 a.m. to get my work out in this morning, it was so foggy and sticky that I was immediately glad we made the decision we did. Oh, and it was already 75 degrees.

Today was a speed work day, which was both good and bad. I knew, given the weather, I would not be able to run a straight 4 to 5 miles, so the quick speed work I typically do around the local park trail would be a good change. But sprinting for 30 seconds at a time with 1 minute of rest for 20 minutes proved to be a little more difficult than I anticipated. But I stuck it out, and 50 minutes later I was glad I had gotten up and completed my work out before 7 a.m.

The past few days I have been heading to the library after my morning shower and breakfast to both beat the heat and actually get some work done.

Today, since TP and I are heading to the mall after she gets some morning errands done, my schedule is a little off, and I’m feeling less than productive. Does anyone else have that problem? I know I rely on schedules way too much, but I feel like I will not get anything done if I don’t make lists or have plans set in advance. This makes things a little difficult for JP and I, since he is SO not a schedule person, and having recently switched to a new job, his new schedule makes it really hard for us to make any plans. It’s something I need to work on, since it’s not always possible to schedule life, but old habits do die hard. Oh well, I guess being a little less than productive isn’t always the worse thing, right?

So, for breakfast I had some overnight oats with blueberries, grapes and a couple of almonds thrown in.

And for dinner last night I made JP and I some blackened tilapia and cut-up veggies on the grill, and a tomato-cucumber salad for some added bulk. It hit the spot on such a warm day. Also, let’s talk about how I love the tilapia filets. There were eight filets in the pack, which I bought on sale for $5.99, and they are sooo easy to cook on nights when I really don’t feel like cooking. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for an easy fish option.

For dessert, we sampled some banana butter from a local farm. JP loves bananas, so I picked it up just to see what it was like. Honestly, I am not a huge fruit butter person, ie – apple, pumpkin ( I DO love me some nut butters, though), so I wasn’t the biggest fan of this butter, but JP liked it, so that was good. I’m not sure I’ll be picking up another container for a while though, given the $4 price tag.

Well, I guess it’s about time for me to get ready for my day.

Have a good one.

Question of the day: Do you like fruit butters? Or any type of butter in general?

I love crunchy natural peanut butter. I am always trying out new brands, and still haven’t found one I absolutely can’t live without, but I do know I cannot live without my PB.

Leave a Reply

