A little of this, a little of that

8 Jul

Hello!

I hope you are enjoying your day.

I have had a pretty eventful one since this morning, and I have a lot of exciting things to share with you.

(photo courtesy of Anne's blog)

First, I wanted to direct you to Anne P.’s blog, where she is hosting an almond butter giveaway. I love nut butters, as will be evidenced later in this post, but I really have never been a huge fan of almond butter. Of couse, I’ve only tried it once, so I guess I really didn’t give it a chance. I hear Barney Butter is FABULOUS though, (just like Anne, who I actually had a chance to meet in Philadelphia during a meet up. Maybe I’ll write about that tomorrow!), and I would love the opportunity to try it again.

(my purchases for the day, minus a mocha bubble tea)

Second, I wanted to show you what I purchased while out with my BF, TP. Those would be pants from New York and Company, and a bathing suit cover-up, binder, and gummy bears, all from Wal-Mart. Yes, all of these were things I probably didn’t need to purchase, but I did anyway for the sake of feeling productive: the pants and binder are for teaching, the bathing suit cover-up is for my trip in a week, and the gummy bears, well, they’re just always necessary, don’t you think?

("Junk")

Third, I wanted to show you the possible dinner I just whipped up for JP and I. I’m not sure if we’re going to eat it tonight or not – it’s kind of hot out for a pasta dish, and JP has been wanting to go out to dinner for a while, but I had some chicken sausage in the fridge that needed to be used, so I decided to throw this together.

Side note, the last time I made this, JP told me, “You could definitely make this again. It was really good.” The only problem is, I rarely ever pay attention to what I throw together, so I don’t usually make the same things twice. And when I do, they never taste the same. After a review like that, though, I immediately ran to my computer and typed out the ingredients, so I could have some idea for the next time.

In my haste to get it on paper, I named the recipe “Junk Pasta” and left it at that. Call it what you will.

Junk Pasta

Ingredients

1 package jalapeno chicken sausage ( I used Al Fresco All Natural, yum!)
1 cup dry wheat pasta
1 can italian stewed tomatoes
1 small can tomato sauce
1/2 bag frozen mixed veggies -I used a mix with broc, corn, peppers
handful spinach (I omitted this today, since I didn’t have any)
pepper and italian seasoning
 

Directions
cut up sausage and brown in pan
cook frozen veggies in microwave and add to sausage
add stewed tomatoes and tomato sauce to sausage
sprinkle in pepper and seasoning
 
cook pasta
 
add pasta to sausage and stir
 
add spinach to mixture and allow to wilt

Enjoy!

(yum!)

Finally, I figured I’d show you what I had for a snack after TP and I had unpictured bubble tea at the mall (I had mocha, she had blueberry. Incase you’re not aware, I have a huge coffee fetish!)

The above shot was actually taken after I enjoyed the Naturally More PB with an apple, and then the Clif bar. If I had to choose a favorite PB, I would have to say Natrually More is it. I love the texture and the fact that it has flax in it. While visiting my parents in Maine, though, I discovered the Teddy brand PB, which I also enjoyed. I like PB that has crunchy things in it, and both these brands do a great job of keeping things interesting.

I also love these mini Clif bars. I know some people go back an forth about energy bars, but when I need a quick snack, I always turn to these. I prefer the mini ones because sometimes the regular size ones are too much for me to handle. Does anyone else have that issue?

Well, I think that was a pretty jam-packed post, just like my afternoon. Let’s see if my night goes the same way!

Have a great evening!

Leave a Reply

