Why “The Last Half-Mile”

7 Jul

It’s another hot one in New Jersey today.

I woke up to the alarm at 6 a.m. and a thermometer reading 78 degrees. Whew.

I must admit my 45 minute bike ride was a little cooler this morning then my run yesterday, but not by much. At least I had finished my work out by 7:30 (which, by the way, also included 20 minutes of toning), happy to have beat the major heat.

Breakfast included a bowl of fruit, cottage cheese, and Kashi Go Lean, after a quick shower, and then I was out the door.

I am currently taking up residence at the local library, since the AC and internet are free, and I can get a lot more work done out of the house (plus I don’t snack as much!). Since I’ve arrived, I’ve found a job I can apply for, and I’ve gotten some reading accomplished, but it’s only 10:45 and my butt already hurts from sitting so much. I may have to cut this library session short and run to Dunkin Donuts for some sweet salvation – and more free internet and AC.

Before I do that, though, I thought I’d write a quick post on why I chose the blog name “The Last Half-Mile.”

In preparing for this blog, I considered a lot of titles. I ended up with “The Last Half-Mile,” but the one I truly had my heart set on was “M&M’s and Apples,” two of my favorite foods. I was afraid Mars might have a problem with me using the name of their candy in my title though, so I went back to the drawing board. Of course, I tried to keep it along the M&M and apples theme, but “Candy-Coated Bits and Apples” just didn’t have the same ring to it.

I eventually got off that path and came up with “Daily Moderation,” and thought that was it. It still represented what I was trying to say with “M&M’s and Apples,” but in another way. You see, I think it’s important to have a little bit of everything in your life, and I think “everything in moderation” in the best way to approach any situation. I think I may  have been stuck on this title because I follow a blog with a very similar theme, though, so I went back to the drawing board and started again.

It was on my run yesterday (the day I started the blog), that I came up with the title. I think it represents a lot that goes on in my life, and not just the last half mile of a run. You see, when I’m running, that last half mile is always my favorite. No matter how long I’ve been running – 3 miles, 6 miles, 10 miles – when I get to the last half mile and home is in sight, I couldn’t be happier. And I think this happens in a lot that Ido in life. No matter how easy or trying something might be, those last few minutes I know I have to endure are always  the best. Rough day at work? Suffering through a difficult gym class? The last half hour or the last circuit I know I’mg going to do is always my strongest and best, because I know I have so much to look forward to when it’s finally over. And although it may seem bitter-sweet, it happens to me during happy occasions, too. You know, like when I see a bride and groom getting ready to step into a waiting limo after a reception, and they are surrounded by their friends, all of whom have just spent the most memorable day ever with them? That’s the last half-mile. After all the planning, all the anticipation, all of the happiness, it all culminates to those last few steps into the limo. That’s the last half-mile. Do you agree?

Leave a Reply

